Solheim Cup team finalised as Matthew announces wildcards


The final line-up for the European team for the Solheim cup has been announced as Captain Catriona Matthew names her four wildcard selections including a last minute place for Vice-Captain Suzann Pettersen.

Alongside Pettersen are Celine Boutier (France) and the English duo Bronte Law and Jodi Ewart Shadoff.

The European team is as follows:

Based on SC Points:

Carlota Ciganda (Esp)

Anne Van Dam (Ned)

Caroline Hadwall (Swe)

Based on World Rankings:

Charley Hull (Eng)

Georgia Hall (Eng)

Azahara mUNOZ (Esp)

Caroline Masson (Ger)

Anna Nordqvist (Swe)

Captain’s Picks:

Celine Boutier (Fra)

Suzann Pettersen (Nor)

Bronte Law (Eng)

Jodi Ewart Shadoff (Eng)

England’s Mel Reid and Meghan MacLaren were among those to miss out.

The USA are defending Champions having won 16½ to Europe’s 11½ in Iowa in 2017. The United States hold an overall 10-5 advantage over Europe in Solheim history.

Europe’s ladies will have been inspired by the magnificent effort of the men in the Ryder Cup at the end of 2018 and will be hoping to emulate their success.

The Solheim Cup will take place on September 9-15 at Gleneagles, Scotland for the first time since 2000.