Travelers field set. No Tiger Woods, but 9 of the top 10 golfers in the world

Tribune Content Agency

HARTFORD, Conn. — Though fans will not be able to take in the Travelers Championship in person, the TPC at River Highlands is in for quite show. Nine of the top 10 golfers in the world are on the way to Cromwell, as the PGA released the final list of players Friday night.

The field of 156 includes Rory McIlroy (ranked No. 1 ), Jon Rahm (No. 2), Justin Thomas (No. 3), Brooks Koepka (No. 4), Dustin Johnson (No. 5), Patrick Reed (No. 6), Patrick Cantlay (No. 7), Webb Simpson (No. 9) and Xander Schauffele (No. 10).

There will be 109 players who have won at least once on the PGA Tour, and 10 former Travelers champs including defending champion Chez Reavie (2019), three-time winner Bubba Watson (2010, 2015 and 2018), Jordan Spieth (2017), Russell Knox (2016), Kevin Streelman (2014), Marc Leishman (2012), Stewart Cink (1997 and 2008), Hunter Mahan (2007), J.J. Henry (2006) and Phil Mickelson (2001 and 2002).

In response to the coronavirus pandemic, the tour was suspended in March, with the major tournaments postponed until the fall. In mid-April, plans were announced to restart, with the first four events to be staged for TV only, without fans on the course. With players looking to get started, the Travelers, which normally falls a week after the U.S. Open, was perfectly positioned to draw its strongest field ever. The third of four TV-only tournaments, the Travelers runs from June 25-28.

Tiger Woods, the game’s biggest name, has never played the Travelers and will not this year.

The first event in the restart, the Charles Schwab Challenge in Fort Worth, Texas, went off with few problems June 11-14; there were no positives among the 487 COVID-19 tests conducted. This weekend, the Tour stop is in Hilton Head, S.C., where one golfer, Nick Watney, tested positive, it was learned Friday. He had to drop out of the Travelers.

Golfers will be arriving in Connecticut on Monday, via one of the PGA’s private jets, or in some cases driving their own vehicles.


A: Byeong Hun An; Abraham Ancer; Ryan Armour

B: Aaron Baddeley; Daniel Berger; Lucas Bjerregaard; Zac Blair; Keegan Bradley; Scott Brown; Wesley Bryan; Bronson Burgoon; Sam Burns

C: Rafa Cabrera Bello; Patrick Cantlay; Paul Case; Bud Cauley; Greg Chalmers; Cameron Champ; Kevin Chappell; Stewart Cink; Wyndham Clark; Corey Conners; Austin Cook

D: Joel Dahmen; Jason Day; Bryson DeChambeau; Luke Donald; Tyler Duncan

E: Matt Every

F: Tony Finau; Matthew Fitzpatrick; Dylan Frittelli; Jim Furyk

G: Sergio Garcia; Brice Garnett; Brian Gay; Lucas Glover; Talor Gooch; Will Gordon; Branden Grace; Lanto Griffin; Emiliano Grillo

H: Chesson Hadley; James Hahn; Brian Harman; Scott Harrington; Russell Henley; J.J. Henry; Harry Higgs; Bo Hoag; Charley Hoffman; Tom Hoge; Max Homa; Billy Horschel; Beau Hossler; Viktor Hovland; Mark Hubbard; Mackenzie Hughes

I: Sungjae Im

J: Dustin Johnson; Zach Johnson; Matt Jones

K: Sung Kang; Michael Kim; Si Woo Kim; Kevin Kisner; Patton Kizzrie; Russell Knox; Brooks Koepka; Jason Kokrak; Peter Kuest

L: Nate Lashley; Danny Lee; Kyoung-Hoon Lee; Marc Leishman; Luke List; Adam Long; Davis Love III; Jamie Lovemark; Shane Lowry

M: Hunter Mahan; Peter Malnati; Denny McCarthy; Graeme McDowell; Rory McIlroy; Troy Merritt; Phl Mickelson; Keith Mitchell; Ryan Moore; Colin Morikawa; Sebastian Munoz; Grayson Murray

N: Kevin Na; Matthew NeSmith; Joaquin Niemann; Seung-Yul Noh; Henrik Norlander

O: Louis Oosthuizen; Carlos Ortiz

P: Ryan Palmer; C.T. Pan; J.T. Poston; Ted Potter Jr.; Ian Poulter; Andrew Putnam

R: Jon Rahm; Chez Reavie; Doc Redman; Patrick Rodgers; Justin Rose; Sam Ryder

S: Xander Schauffele; Scottie Scheffler; Adam Schenk; Charl Schwartzel; Robby Shelton; Webb Simpson; Vijay Singh; Roger Sloan; Cameron Smith; Brandt Snedeker; J.J. Spaun; Jordan Spieth; Scott Stallings; Kyle Stanley; Brendan Steele; Sepp Straka; Kevin Streelman; Steve Stricker; Chris Stroud; Brian Stuard; Hudson Swafford

T: Vaughn Taylor; Sahith Theegala; Justin Thomas; Michael Thompson; Brendon Todd; Martin Trainer; Cameron Tringale; Kevin Tway

V: Bo Van Pelt; Harold Varner III; Jhonattan Vegas

W: Matt Wallace; Bubba Watson; Richy Werenski; Danny Willett; Aaron Wise; Matthew Wolff; Gary Woodland

Z: Xinjun Zhang


©2020 The Hartford Courant (Hartford, Conn.)

Visit The Hartford Courant (Hartford, Conn.) at

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.